“Rodeo” is Travis Scott’s best work

Dylan Hughes
7 min readMay 25, 2020
Album cover for Travis Scott’s “Rodeo”

The majority of Travis Scott’s fanbase has likely assembled thanks to his work in the past three years, namely Birds in the Trap Sing McKnight and Astroworld. The base for who Travis is and how his music has grown to what it is can be seen on his two mixtapes, Owl Pharaoh and Days Before Rodeo.

But the best work Travis Scott has put out to this day comes sandwiched between all of that on his 2015 debut studio album, Rodeo.

Going back in time and listening to Owl Pharaoh, which released in 2013, you see the early makings of a producer-turned-rapper, placing heavy emphasis on the sonic experience of a song rather than one takeaway line or verse. “Bad Mood/Shit On You,” the tape’s second track, is Scott’s first effort at the intra-song beat switch his fans have come to expect in his following projects.

The song’s opening verse lays the groundwork for the “Bad Mood” segment of the song, describing his lack of care for going against the grain and doing things his way. This is not the only verse in Scott’s discography with this theme.

(I just have one question) Fuck outta my business
I did things that most men will ask forgiveness
Broke the code, the commandments from my descendants

Who gives a fuck? New children in the buildin’
We ride with no limits
Shut the fuck up, don’t you hear me tryna finish?
I’m in a

--

--

Dylan Hughes

Three-time author writing on whatever interests me. Follow me on Instagram: chyaboidylan