How to Self-Publish Your Own Book

First things first, just start writing!

Dylan Hughes
5 min readApr 21, 2021

--

From One Young Soul to Another, Dylan Hughes
Photo by Author

Everyone has a story worth writing about, whether they know it or not. In today’s day and age, it’s easier to self-publish a book than you may think. It was certainly easier than I realized when I started writing my book late last year.

Going back to my third grade days, writing and coloring in blank hardback books, I have loved writing. When I was even younger than that, I would take my children's books and write down their contents onto blank sheets of paper (someone should have taught Young Dylan about copyright infringement).

When I was about 14, I finally took my talents to the internet, blogging about sports. Once I started, I fell in love and have been at it ever since.

I have known for a long time that I want to become a professional writer. I knew I wanted to go to college for journalism and I did that, graduating last year with a Sports Journalism degree from IUPUI. While I was a little lost career-wise after graduating, the end goal remained clear: I wanted to write professionally.

After months of struggling to find even an entry-level writing job, I threw in the towel and took matters into my own hands. I began my Substack newsletter, where I write words weekly on what is interesting to me in the business…

--

--

Dylan Hughes

Three-time author writing on whatever interests me. Follow me on Instagram: chyaboidylan